The Francis Sevila Young Professional Award

This award is in memory of Prof Francis Sevila (1950-2010).  Francis was a founding member of EurAgEng, the organiser of AgEng1986 Paris and became the first President of EurAgEng in 1992.  The award is to be given biennially at AgEng conferences.  The Award recognises the potential of younger European agricultural engineers, who have demonstrated excellence in the early stage of their career (typically within 15 years of graduation with a first degree related to agricultural or biosystems engineering). This excellence is marked by a quality of leadership and/or technical and scientific attainment that are clearly seen to be outstanding by their employers and other organisations.

Click here to download a



Francis Sevila Award AgEng 2018 Wageningen

Roland Lenain, based at IRSTEA, Clermont Ferrand, is the French leader in field robotics. He is highly regarded by his scientific peers and is able to build “bridges” between the “generic robotic” and the “field robotic” scientific communities.  He is also involved in teaching within the engineering school and University where he stimulates the interest of students for field robotics and his PhD students have gone on to influential positions in robotics. He has impressive results in scientific and technical publications (more than 80 papers, and conferences and a patent), in teaching (masters and thesis supervision) and in dissemination (improvement of ROPS codes for agricultural tractors and machinery) and was involved in the creation of RobAgri, the French association of manufacturers, scientists and universities for agricultural robotics.



Francis Sevila Award  CIGR AgEng 2016 Aarhus 

The 2016 award has kindly been supported by Sepp Knüsel Landmaschinen in Switzerland. Sepp Knüsel is a former winner of the Award of Merit and we thank them for their help.
This year, the award went to Professor Álvaro Ramírez Gómez from the Technical University of Madrid. His CV reads more like someone of twice his age with many achievements, publications and research projects to his name both within the Spanish community and within the international community. His expertise lies in understanding the handling of bulk solids including the mechanics of granular materials, the behaviour of storage structures such as silos, and from a health and safety view, dust explosions. He has demonstrated strong leadership through such roles as Chairman of WPMPS, Vice-chairman of CIGR Section II, Structures and Environment, member of the governing board of SEAgIng, coordinator of several European projects and founder of the conference series HANHAZ (International Symposium on Handling and Hazards of Particulate Solids in Industry) . With an early background in industry, he has worked successfully with industry as well as academia in many parts of the world as well as leading the Biosystems Engineering Teaching Innovation Group at his university.




Francis Sevila Award AgEng 2014 Zurich

At AgEng2014 Zurich, Eutiquio Gallego Vázquez from the Technical University of Madrid, was presented with the Francis Sevila Award, kindly supported by John Deere, in recognition of his outstanding career in Agricultural Engineering so far. Here he is with his colleague Margarita Ruiz-Altisent. 


The first recipient of the Francis Sevila Young Professional Award, named in honour of the first EurAgEng President and supported by Pellenc SA, is Francisco Javier Garcia Ramos of Zaragoza University, Spain. His original ideas and ability to convert research and new technology into industrial innovation is one of his strengths in inspiring his colleagues and students alike.